Most drivers to purchase insurance because it is a state requirement in the state of California. While state laws are complied with financial responsibility, you know what type of protection you are paying. It is important to understand how your car insurance Orange County policy will protect you in case of accident. The last thing we want to hear when you have a claim is not covered properly. Below is a basic overview of the major insurance coverages car in California.
Personal injury protection is a state requirement. The state of California required to carry at least $ 15,000 per person and $ 30,000 per accident in bodily injury protection. Assuming that was at fault for an accident and the other party is injured, your policy will pay up to the limits. If you do not have enough bodily injury coverage, third parties have the right to sue in civil court.
Property damage is another form of liability coverage. This coverage pays to repair another vehicle in the event that you were at fault for the damage. The state minimum auto insurance in Orange County is $ 5,000. This limit is per accident per vehicle. If more than one vehicle is damaged, it can cost well over $ 5000.
Medical payments coverage is optional coverage in Orange County. This coverage option will pay the medical expenses that you and your passengers accumulate arising from a claim. No matter who is to blame for the claim. This is a no-fault coverage. You are required to sign a refusal form if you decide not to carry this coverage options.
Uninsured driver is another option for coverage. This coverage pays for injuries you and your experience of passengers if a driver had no insurance hits you. Medical bills can add up. If you do not have insurance, you should choose to carry this coverage for medical treatment can be approved. You can also add Insurance Motorist Property Damage to your policy. This will pay up to $ 3.500 for your vehicle.
Collision coverage includes both comprehensive and collision. Integral will pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it is damaged by fire, theft, vandalism, or glass breakage. collision insurance will pay to repair your vehicle in a loss of movement. You must pay a deductible before the insurance company will pay for damages.
Now that you have a basic understanding of your auto insurance policy for Orange County, you can review your coverage to ensure it is adequate. Make sure to raise their limits, if possible. The fact that the requirements of the state does not mean they are protected. Discuss your policy with a knowledge broker and make the necessary adjustments.