Former Argentina soccer star Diego Maradona has acknowledged on Argentine television in 2005 , that he struck the ball with his hand in the infamous "Hand of God" goal against England in the 1986 World Cup quarter-finals.
He said he was unable to reach the ball for a header because England''s goalkeeper Peter Shilton "was very tall".
Maradona, who was Argentina''s captain, said he quickly realized the referee allowed the goal but none of his teammates rushed to celebrate with him - themselves disbelieving.
Replays clearly showed the foul, but the goal helped propel Argentina to a 2-1 victory. Maradona also scored the second goal, which has been dubbed the "Feet of a God" goal, and which FIFA declared to be the greatest ever in World Cup competition.